top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Smash





Stalwart firecrackers CLUTCH have revealed the fifth release in their series of live concert recordings, shared under the collective moniker PA Tapes, comes from a riotous night in Oregon on October 9th, 2022.

Released today, Tuesday 14th November, PA Tapes (Live In Portland, 10/9/22), showcases a fat slab of veritable bangers guaranteed to get your blood pumping and toes tapping. The release also includes rare gems like "Green Buckets" (from 1998's The Elephant Riders album), performed live a mere 60-or-so times over the band's extensive career, which has racked up nigh-on 3000 live performances with dates every year since 1991.

Legendary for changing the set list every night, with each band member taking turns in the hot seat, the party in Portland was curated by ground-trembling bassist Dan Maines, who raves, "Roseland Theater in Portland is one of our favourite stops on tour! Always great energy from the audience; October 9th, 2022 was no exception."

A decade on from boldly declaring, "If you're gonna do it, do it live on stage, or don't do it at all' in their acclaimed single "Earth Rocker", CLUTCH's PA Tapes comprise meticulously mixed and mastered live shows from around the world. Renowned for their captivating and authentic live performances, the handpicked shows reflect some of the best live atmosphere, giving fans globally a chance to experience the energy and excitement of a CLUTCH concert from the comfort of their own homes, whenever they like.

PA Tapes (Live In Portland, 10/9/22) is available from today, Tuesday 14th November, on all digital platforms, including Spotify. Don't miss the previous releases from the PA Tapes series, including shows recorded in Nashville, Seattle, and Copenhagen, plus a very early show at the famous King's Head Inn in Norfolk, Virginia from 1993!

PA Tapes (Live In Portland, 10/9/22)

The track list includes:

  1. Red Alert (Boss Metal Zone)

  2. Walking In The Great Shining Path Of Monster Trucks

  3. Nosferatu Madre

  4. Promoter (Of Earthbound Causes)

  5. El Jefe Speaks

  6. Pure Rock Fury

  7. Green Buckets

  8. Elephant Riders

  9. Mountain Of Bone

  10. Willie Nelson

  11. The Mob Goes Wild

  12. A Shogun Named Marcus

  13. Animal Farm

  14. Passive Restraints

  15. Skeletons On Mars

  16. Noble Savage

  17. The Face

  18. Slaughter Beach

  19. Earth Rocker

  20. The House That Peterbilt

CLUTCH recently performed in front of a 10,000 sold out crowd at Colorado's iconic Red RocksAmphitheatre with country artist Cody Jinks. The group will see out 2023 with a show on December 9th at the Warren Haynes Presents Christmas Jam in Asheville, North Carolina. Touring plans for 2024 are already underway, with Florida's Welcome To Rockville announced for May, and a return to the UK in August for Bloodstock confirmed.

CLUTCH's thirteenth studio album, Sunrise On Slaughter Beach, was released in September 2022 and is a slamming summary of everything that makes the band great. The band have released three official singles - "Red Alert (Boss Metal Zone)", "We Strive For Excellence" and "Slaughter Beach". Sunrise On Slaughter Beach is the natural culmination of what CLUTCH began as teenagers in the early ‘90s.

Recorded at The Magpie Cage Recording Studio, Baltimore, MD, the album was produced and mixed by Grammy nominated Tom Dalgety (Ghost, Royal Blood, Pixies) with additional engineering by J Robbins (Jawbreaker, Against Me!, The Sword). Sunrise On Slaughter Beach introduces some “firsts” into the CLUTCH canon: vibraphone (from Gaster), theremin (J. Robbins), and female backup vocals from singers Deborah Bond and Frenchie Davis. The album’s nine songs are a diverse ride, destined to please long-time fans and intrigue newcomers alike. It’s a new chapter in an ever-unfolding story which means as much to the fans as it does to the band.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page