top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Smash

Today Was Yesterday Announce Debut Studio Album, Featuring Alex Lifeson & Robby Krieger

Today Was Yesterday Announce Debut Studio Album, Featuring Guest Performances From Rock And Roll Hall of Famers Alex Lifeson (Rush) & Robby Krieger (The Doors)

Released 23 February via Music Theories Recordings / Mascot Label Group Watch the video for “Grace” here:

Pre-order the album here:

Today Was Yesterday and Music Theories Recordings / Mascot Label Group have announced the global release of the duo’s debut studio album on February 23, 2024. Drummer, percussionist and programmer Ty Dennis and lead vocalist, primary songwriter, bassist, guitarist, pianist and programmer Angelo Barbera together are TODAY WAS YESTERDAY. On this collection of recordings, both Robby Krieger and Alex Lifeson contribute several performances.

Today, they present the lead official music video for “Grace.” You can watch the video HERE. The lead track is one of six on the album that features guitarist Alex Lifeson, and is a moody and imaginatively-arranged rocker that evokes 1970s prog-rock and Physical Graffiti-era Led Zeppelin. Lyrically, the song is about the fentanyl epidemic, and features some of Angelo’s most emotionally direct lyrics, including: “Swallowed addictions paid in souls/Timeless Crimes That Go Raging By.”

Pre-order the album here:

The duo is on a mission to create timeless music that transcends genres and generations. The debut is an imaginative, 10-song collection of prime modern classic rock. “We come from the days when pop musicians weren’t afraid to be good players,” says LA-based Ty Dennis. “Ty and I’ve played together as sidemen for 25 years, and we’ve always wanted to work together on original music. Today Was Yesterday is a dream come true for us,” shares Chicago-based Angelo Barbera. Today Was Yesterday writes adventurous and smart pop-rock spiritually aligned with NIN, Japan and David Sylvian, Genesis and Peter Gabriel, Tears For Fears, Led Zeppelin, Steely Dan, and Rush. Its first album features intricate but catchy compositions replete with thrilling virtuosic musical passages, art-rock soundscapes, and meticulous production. Lyrically and conceptually, Today Was Yesterday specialize in the type of metaphorical and poetic lyrics favored by artists such as Genesis, Peter Gabriel, and Rush.

Angelo and Ty first met in 1997. They are longtime veterans of the rock n’ roll scene with a telepathic musical connection. Angelo has worked with The Motels featuring Martha Davis, Red Square Black, Lita Ford, and, most notably, The Robby Krieger Band and The Doors of the 21st Century. Ty previously played in The Motels featuring Martha Davis, where he met Angelo, and he later replaced the Police’s Stewart Copeland in The Doors of the 21st Century.

Prior to his successful hired gun career, Angelo was a band guy, and he has remained an active songwriter even as his bass playing earned him world-class gigs. Angelo’s song sketches became the basis of Today Was Yesterday’s debut album, though they evolved considerably when Ty added his musicianship and artistic vision.

Initially, Today Was Yesterday was going to have a more conventional lineup presentation. “I tried out lead singers, but, at times, it was comical, like a SNL skit—the LSD, lead singer’s disease, was too much for me,” Angelo says laughing. The pair decided to create as a self-contained unit, self-producing and playing all the instruments with Angelo handling all the lead vocals.

The band is joined on this debut by some very special guests. Over the years, Ty had been in house bands for all-star concerts in which Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson was a part of. In 2022, Ty gave Alex a lift back to his hotel after a rehearsal, and he played him some early versions of a couple Today Was Yesterday songs. Alex was a fan of what he heard and said he would love to play on some of the tracks. “We're honored to have Alex joining us on 6 of the album's 10 songs.”

Robby Krieger joins the party for the bluesy, "If I Fall (Silly Games),” which features his one-of-a-kind slide guitar playing. “Jim Morrison freaked out when he heard Robby play slide, and wanted him to play it all the time, and I can see why. His slide playing is so emotional—it makes my hair stand up,” Ty says.

Today Was Yesterday has been a deeply satisfying creative adventure for Ty and Angelo. As they gear up to perform live in the summer of 2024, the guys look back on their career and the road ahead with thoughtfulness and gratitude. “I’m normally helping someone else achieve their goals—which I’m always happy to do—but this band gives me a chance to play exactly what I want to play, and I love that,” Ty says. Angelo adds: “This music is one hundred percent pure and honest. It doesn’t sound like anything contemporary. It is truly Today Was Yesterday.”


1. Grace (feat. Alex Lifeson)

2. A Louder Silence (feat. Alex Lifeson)

3. On My Own (feat. Alex Lifeson)

4. I Take All (feat. Ed Roth)

5. My Dog Is My God (feat. Alex Lifeson)

6. Faceless Faraway Song (feat. Alex Lifeson)

7. If I Fall (Silly Games) (feat. Robby Krieger)

8. Rukus

9. Borrowed

10. My New Low (feat. Alex Lifeson)

7 views0 comments


bottom of page